Crochet Easter Eggs

Tis’ the season for that cute little bunny to hop hop hop it’s way into our homes while leaving a trail of treats for all to find. It’s hard to believe that spring is officially here. I don’t know where you are on the map but here in the Prairies we are still drowning in snow 😦 It’s not a lot of fun and so hard to stay positive when all you want to see is that green grass poking through the white stuff to give some hope that spring is actually here. The good thing? Another excuse to indulge in some yummy treats before we have to start the dreaded chore of spring cleaning. So lets eat while we can and go on the hunt to find all the goodies that bunny will leave behind.

If you come across any eggs that look like these guys then please refrain from eating. They are pretty cute but not eligible to be part of our guilt free eating, unless you like eating yarn and in that case you got issues 😉 I made these beauties to get those spring vibes flowing through me and through my home. These crochet eggs are a delight to make, I felt like a kid again playing with different colour combos and patterns.

These little eggs are so much fun and will be sure to cure those snowy day blues, rest assured it will feel like spring soon enough! This pattern can be found here.

I made one modification which I want to mention. I did not have the right size of hook as per the pattern so I used the smallest one I had which was a 3mm. With this in mind, I only inc x 3 for step #2. I wanted to make mention in case you find yourself in the same predicament.

I also want to share a good tip I once received when switching between colours. It can be difficult to make it look seamless but what I found helped was, when you are wanting to make a colour change take the colour you are currently working with (colour A) and insert it through the next stitch as you normally would, yarn over and pull through, then take colour B (the colour you are wanting to switch to) and yarn over. Continue with the stitch you were in progress of completing. From there you will be working with the new colour and can continue on. I found this to be the best practice when wanting to make the switch as unnoticeable as possible.

It’s time to hop hop hop on over to your yarn stash and get started! Happy Easter Friends 🙂

Leave a comment